A very late reflection on the Women’s March on London

Take a stand

I am sorry it has taken me so long to write this, the past nine days since the march have been pretty busy and this blog post got pushed and pushed back. I’m sorry. I love you. This won’t happen again.

So, now I’ve finished grovelling a little, back to the main reason I’m here. The Women’s March on London. On Washington. On Los Angeles. On the world. Whoever took part, whether in person at a demonstration, or from their home, I thank you. Thank you for standing up for what is right. It takes a big deal of courage to make your point heard, and thanks to everyone who participated, our voices were unequivocally heard. Thank you for shouting from the rooftops for those who couldn’t. Thank you, thank you, thank you. 

This was my first protest, and it will not be my last. I experienced such a huge range of emotions throughout the hours that I was there, one a couple of occasions I very nearly cried at how overwhelming such an environment was. There was such unity, over one hundred thousand people standing together, in one place at one time, demanding change. It really moved me.  I struggle to comprehend how many people attended,  but it was beautiful.

The protest was conducted with love, sharing a peaceful message of equality, and offering safety for those who face discrimination. One week later, the ban on Syrian refugees into America, as well all visitors from seven other nations has left us shaken. It has reiterated why it so important for those in more privileged positions to stand up for what is right. There is no question that these actions are wrong, unAmerican and inhumane. I will stand up for these men, women and children who are being refused entry simply for where they were born. I hope you reading this would do the same. One week ago, many people said “why are you protesting, President Trump has only been President for a day, he hasn’t done anything yet.” Well. Here we are, one week in and this has already begun. This isn’t okay.

For the immigrants, for the LGBTQ+ community, for the Mexicans, for the POC, for the people living with disabilities, for the women, for everyone in the world; I will stand up and stand by you.

Hope isn’t lost yet, there are still good people in this world.

Love more now than ever

Liv

xxx

 

img_0565img_0566img_0567img_0575img_0576img_0578

Author: theextranotes

eighteen year old student living in London. posting thoughts on anything and everything. lover of all things extra.

Leave a Reply

